Excerpt of Life: Beauty in the Pen

My first love had always been writing. Many would’ve thought otherwise–I am first and foremost a singer, but I fell in love with the art of the pen.

What is there in the written work?

Fables and Legends, Cultures and Histories — these all have owed the pen.

And I have fallen in-love with such–and the art of speech and communication among all languages and cultures, even the sign language. This vastness, the great wisdom of humanity, though much incomparable to God’s, is proof also of His greatness, His perfect wisdom, His eternal power.

And so I learned… to write and to speak. I attained skill with earnest ambition and an eye for the art of speech and words. As time passed, I progressed. They say if you love something, it wouldn’t be difficult to do.

Many people can write, professionally speaking. But not all people love to write.

I prefer to write because, despite my capabilities with the languages I speak, and my manner of speech, I’m not good with public speaking. When people demand a message of substance, unlike with declamations or short interviews, I can’t seem to bring myself to catch the audience’s attention unlike the way I would be able to if I wrote it down.

During my years as a college freshman, I had a professor (she taught English), who, in her class while we were to simply introduce ourselves one by one, asked me why I had chosen to write down the words I was going to say. I didn’t have an answer for her–surprisingly to me even, it was because I was confused.

Ms. Sayoc, as she was called, asked me in a way that was neither demeaning nor provocative, but rather in a manner that suggested she saw potential in me. I say this neither because of overconfidence in my own capabilities nor because it was her verbalized viewpoint. It was just so discernable back then.

Needless to say, the question was “why?”

I am in the least bit concerned over how my words will hurt people, as long as they are based on absolute proven facts or are my general and unwavering opinion clearly-stated and intended as. But I have always experienced stage jitters. I used to think I had stage fright, but that is different from what I call “stage jitters.” I’m never afraid to stand on stage, but I find it difficult to catch the audience’s attention and later feel shaky and withdrawn as though I am artificial intelligence, intending only to convey the essence of the message but to disregard its comprehension or recall by the listeners. Yet that is my goal, whether I write my speech and read, or write and aim to publish, I desire to be understood.

So I am pulled toward this inevitable path, not because I want to be withdrawn, but because, I think, I am more comfortable and assured of being able to express myself clearly through the written. I have no problems chatting, or engaging into online conversations via typing. It’s just very different.

I do see writing as my stepping stone to be able to one day weild a microphone (to speak) comfortably. But right now, I will enjoy every bit of this art because it also enchants me.

Writers are like the Bass of the Musical Band. Their contributions are enormous–vital to accentuate the guitar, essential to the emphasis of the main concept, but they’d stay on the sidelines, as such less popular than the guitarist. Writers, their words remain long after they’re dead–they speak to people through what they’ve written even though sometimes their readers may no longer know them–the same way we are able to listen to dead singers through their recorded music.

I’m perceive my professional career would one day require me to speak to many. And when that day comes, I do wish that all my experiences, both as a nurse and writer, and Godwilling someday as an educator, would serve me to be able to speak my mind in the best possible way to not just convey my message clearly but to be able to inspire my listeners as my written words had already been able to do so as early as during my high school days.

And when I retire from my nursing career, I would like to write and continue to write. Wherefore there is beauty in writing and manner of speech, and art in ideation, but most importantly, there is a God that giveth all things, all talents and skill, that were meant for service unto Him who is most generous.

And so fables and legends, and cultures and histories, they owe God–we owe God.

Is there evil that result in this art? –in our long history of communication as a society? The evil results thereof, in other words erotica, blasphemy, trash talks–yes they are but the result of this long history of speech–but just remember, in the same way people blame God for the cruelty that occur to them in this world, in this life, we can never have the good without the bad. There are circumstances for everything. There is beauty in humanity and there is also evil. It is inevitable because we live in such a world.

But the beauty in things make the changes and the results. We are not here to comment and be mere observers, but to be partakers, so that this society will grow and the aspects of our growth will be for the better and not for the worse.

Such is the same in the arts, and among those, the art of communication.

I am but a writer, but I seek to utilize this art for the beauty that it possess, for the contribution it has brought and may continue to bring to humanity.

Here I write with the Art in me, that my colors may reach out unto both stars and moons, unto both those who shine those who do not. But because this art is not of my wisdom but God’s, I glorify and thank Him for this gift.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Updated: 5 January 2016

Leave a Reply

